Sunday, October 11, the Nashville Songwriters Foundation inducted Rosanne Cash, Mark James, Even Stevens and Craig Wiseman into the Class of 2015. In addition, NSAI awarded Song of the Year, Songwriter/Artist of the Year, Song of the Year along and the Ten Songs I Wish I'd Written

The association’s professional songwriter members voted Girl Crush” (written by Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna and Liz Rose / recorded by Little Big Townas their Song of the Year. The writers accepted their award and also performed the song. The Songwriter of the Year prize went to Rodney Clawson, co-writer of hits such as “American Kids” (Kenny Chesney), “Bartender” (Lady Antebellum), “Burnin’ It Down” (Jason Aldean), “Dirt” (Florida Georgia Line), “Lettin’ The Night Roll” (Justin Moore) and “Sippin’ On Fire” (Florida Georgia Line).

The Songwriter/Artist of the Year was presented for a record-breaking seventh time in nine years to Taylor Swift, who scored self-penned hits of her own such as "Bad Blood," "Blank Space," "Shake It Off” and "Style."


Besides honoring the Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, the writers of NSAI's Professional Songwriters Division also singled out 10 songs and their writers for the organization's 2015 awards, informally dubbed "The Songs I Wish I'd Written."  (Because of a tie, 11 awards were presented).  Recipients were:  “A Guy Walks Into A Bar” (Melissa Peirce, Jonathan Singleton, Brad Tursi / recorded by Tyler Farr), “All About That Bass” (Kevin Kadish, Meghan Trainor / recorded by Meghan Trainor), American Kids” (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally / recorded by Kenny Chesney). “Diamond Rings And Old Bar Stools” (Barry Dean, Luke Laird, Jonathan Singleton / recorded by Tim McGraw w/ Catherine Dunn), “Dirt” (Rodney Clawson, Chris Tompkins/ recorded by Florida Georgia Line), “Girl In A Country Song” (Taylor Dye, Maddie Marlow, Aaron Scherz / recorded by Maddie & Tae), “I Don't Dance” (Lee Brice, Dallas Davidson, Rob Hatch / recorded by Lee Brice), “Neon Light” (Andrew Dorff, Mark Irwin, Josh Kear / recorded by Blake Shelton), “Raise 'Em Up” (Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele / recorded by Keith Urban w/ Eric Church), “Shake It Off ” (Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift / recorded by Taylor Swift) and “She Don't Love You” (Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne / recorded by Eric Paslay).
See the full album on our Facebook page! Below are just a few shoutouts from our industry friends who joined us in the celebration last night! Congratulations to all inductees and our winners!