The U.S. House of Representatives today adopted new rules to select the U.S. Register of Copyrights.  H.R. 1695 requires a process to choose three nominees for the President to select from, one of whom would be appointed as U.S. Register of Copyrights to serve a ten-year term.  The bill removes the appointment for the Librarian of Congress.  The next step is approval by the U.S. Senate.

“This action was necessary and ultimately good for songwriters and other creators,” said Nashville Songwriters Association Executive Director Bart Herbison.  “The new process will help ensure a properly qualified Register and includes a nominating process similar to one recommended by NSAI.  This bill makes the Register more accountable to our elected officials and requires Senate confirmation.” Core Copyright businesses contribute 1.2 Trillion dollars to the U.S. economy each year.

Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) Board Member Ben Glover, Church Music Publishers Association (CMPA) board member John Shorney, acting-U.S. Register of Copyrights Karen Claggett, NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison, CMPA Board Member Geoff Lorenz and NSAI Board Member Roger Brown at the U.S. Copyright Offfice earlier this year.

NSAI Board members Roger Brown and Ben Glove with Sr. Director of Operations Jennifer Turnbow at the U.S. Copyright Office earlier this year. Acting U.S. Register of Copyrights Karen Claggett and staff look on.