NSAI 2024 Board of Directors Election Results

Lee Thomas Miller and Jenn Schott Elected NSAI President and Vice President

NSAI Grateful for Outgoing President Steve Bogard’s Service

February 6, 2024 (Nashville, Tenn.) — The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) recently concluded its Board of Director elections and selected its leadership for the coming year.  Steve Bogard, the longest-serving President in the organization’s history, chose not to seek another term in leadership, though he will continue to serve on the Board of Directors.  NSAI Board members selected Lee Thomas Miller to serve as President and Jenn Schott as Vice President. 

Steve Bogard led NSAI through complicated trials where we sought higher streaming rates, the Music Modernization Act, and many challenges as we sought to improve compensation for American Songwriters,” said NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison. “Every songwriter in the United States owes him a handshake and thank you for his work and the thousands of hours he sacrificed.”

We are also glad to welcome Lee Thomas Miller who has served as President previously and is a proven, effective advocate. And Jenn Schott who will serve as NSAI Vice-President after years of experience on our board and Executive Committee.”

The general election resulted in new board member Trannie Andersonjoining for a first term and ten current board members re-elected to two-year terms: Steve BogardChris DeStefanoJ.T. HardingByron HillJosh KearJamie MooreJon NiteLiz RoseJenn Schott and Emily Shackelton.

Roger Brown was re-appointed to a one-year term as “Legislative Chair,” Rhett Akins and Caitlyn Smith were re-appointed to one-year terms to the “Artist Writer” board positions and Brett James was re-appointed to a one-year term to the “Industry Liaison” position.

They join existing board members Kelly ArcherSarah BuxtonDavid HodgesJessie Jo DillonLee Thomas MillerTim NicholsJosh OsborneRivers RutherfordAnthony L. SmithTroy Verges and Parker Welling whose terms expire in 2025.

NSAI Board elections happen in two phases and include voting by the NSAI Professional Songwriter Membership and appointments by the NSAI Board of Directors.  The board terms begin each year at the April meeting.



The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) is the world’s largest not-for-profit songwriters trade association. Established in 1967, the membership of more than 5,000 active and professional members spans the United States and foreign countries.  NSAI, with more nearly 100 chapters, is dedicated to protecting the rights of and serving aspiring and professional songwriters in all genres of music.  NSAI has been responsible for many advocacy advances for songwriters including its work on the Music Modernization Act and creation of the MLC, creating the first group copyright infringement insurance for songwriters, passing the landmark Songwriter Capital Gains Tax Equity Act and owns The Bluebird Cafe.