NSAI Songs of the Year

NSAI's Song of the Year is determined by the song that receives the most votes during the "Ten Songs I Wish I'd Written" balloting.

2016 "Humble And Kind" By Lori McKenna (recorded by Tim McGraw)

2015 "Girl Crush" By Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna and Liz Rose (recorded by Little Big Town)

2014 "Automatic" By Nicolle Galyon, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert (recorded by Miranda Lambert)

2013 "I Drive Your Truck" By Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary (recorded by Lee Brice)

2012 "I Will Always Love You” By Dolly Parton (recorded by Whitney Houston)

2011 "If I Die Young” By Kimberly Perry (recorded by The Band Perry)

2010 "The House That Built Me” By Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin (recorded by Miranda Lambert)

2009 "Waitin' On A Woman” By Don Sampson, Wynn Varble (recorded by Brad Paisley)

2008 "You're Gonna Miss This” By Ashley Gorley, Lee Thomas Miller (recorded by Trace Adkins)

2007 "Bless The Broken Road” By Bobby E. Boyd, Jeff Hanna, Marcus Hummon (recorded by Selah w/ Melodie Crittenden)
[Note: With this version, recorded by Selah with Melodie Crittenden, this song made NSAI history by becoming the first song in the organization's history to earn song of the year honors in two different years with recordings by different artists. This song received the same honor in 2005 with the recording by Rascal Flatts.]

2006 "Jesus, Take The Wheel” By Brett James, Hillary Lindsey, Gordie Sampson (recorded by Carrie Underwood)

2005 "Bless The Broken Road” By Bobby E. Boyd, Jeff Hanna, Marcus Hummon (recorded by Rascal Flatts)

2004 "Live Like You Were Dying” By Tim Nichols, Craig Wiseman (recorded by Tim McGraw)

2003 "Three Wooden Crosses" By Doug Johnson, Kim Williams (recorded by Randy Travis)

2002 "I'm Movin' On" By Phillip White, D. Vincent Williams (recorded by Rascal Flatts)

2000-2001 "I Hope You Dance" By Mark D. Sanders, Tia Sillers (recorded by Lee Ann Womack)

1999 "Amazed" By Marv Green, Chris Lindsey, Aimee Mayo (recorded by Lonestar)

1998 "Don't Laugh At Me" By Steve Seskin, Allen Shamblin (recorded by Mark Wills) -AND- "Holes In The Floor Of Heaven" By Billy Kirsch, Steve Wariner (recorded by Steve Wariner)

1997 "Something That We Do" By Clint Black, Skip Ewing (recorded by Clint Black)

1996 "Strawberry Wine" By Matraca Berg, Gary Harrison (recorded by Deana Carter)

1995 "I Can Love You Like That" By Jennifer Kimball, Maribeth Derry, Steve Diamond (recorded by John Michael Montgomery)

1994 "I Swear" By Frank J. Myers, Gary Baker (recorded by John Michael Montgomery)

1993 "The Song Remembers When" By Hugh Prestwood (recorded by Trisha Yearwood)

1992 "Achy Breaky Heart" By Don Von Tress (recorded by Billy Ray Cyrus)

1991 "Somewhere In My Broken Heart" By Richard Leigh, Billy Dean (recorded by Billy Dean)

1990 "Where've You Been" By Jon Vezner, Don Henry (recorded by Kathy Mattea)

1989 "If Tomorrow Never Comes" By Garth Brooks, Kent Blazy (recorded by Garth Brooks)

1988 "Chiseled In Stone" By Max D. Barnes, Vern Gosdin (recorded by Vern Gosdin)

1987 "Forever And Ever, Amen" By Don Schlitz, Paul Overstreet (recorded by Randy Travis)

1986 "On The Other Hand" By Don Schlitz, Paul Overstreet (recorded by Randy Travis)

1985 "Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On" By Bob McDill (recorded by Mel McDaniel)

1984 "Mama He's Crazy" By Kenny O'Dell (recorded by The Judds)

1983 "Holding Her And Loving You" By Walt Aldridge, Tommy Brasfield (recorded by Earl Thomas Conley)

1982 "Always On My Mind" By Johnny Christopher, Wayne Carson, Mark James (recorded by Willie Nelson)

1981 "You're The Reason God Made Oklahoma" By Larry Collins, Sandy Pinkard (recorded by David Frizzell & Shelly West)

1980 "He Stopped Loving Her Today" By Bobby Braddock, Curly Putman (recorded by George Jones)

1979 "She Believes In Me" By Steve Gibb (recorded by Kenny Rogers)

1978 "You Needed Me" By Randy Goodrum (recorded by Anne Murray)

1977 "Lucille" By Roger Bowling, Hal Bynum (recorded by Kenny Rogers)

1976 "Amanda" By Bob McDill (recorded by Don Williams)

1975 "Before The Next Teardrop Falls" By Ben Peters (recorded by Freddy Fender)

1974 "Country Bumpkin" By Don Wayne (recorded by Cal Smith)

1973 "Why Me, Lord?" By Kris Kristofferson (recorded by Kris Kristofferson)

1972 "Old Dogs, Children And Watermelon Wine" By Tom T. Hall (recorded by Tom T. Hall)

1971 "Sunday Morning Coming Down" By Kris Kristofferson (recorded by Kris Kristofferson)

1970 "For The Good Times" By Kris Kristofferson (recorded by Kris Kristofferson)

1969 "Okie From Muskogee" By Merle Haggard (recorded by Merle Haggard)

1968 "Honey" By Bobby Russell (recorded by Bobby Goldsboro)

1967 "There Goes My Everything" By Dallas Frazier (recorded by Jack Greene)