Organizational Awards


Error message

In observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, NSAI will be closed Monday, January 17. The office will be back open Tuesday January 18 at 10:00am Central.

NSAI President’s Keystone Award:

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the betterment of all songwriters, chosen by the current NSAI President. 

2019: George Strait

2017: Bart Herbison

2016: Elwyn Raymer
2015: Jeff Carlton

Kris Kristofferson Award:

Given in recognition to a songwriter whose works have made a significant contribution to the American songbook and who has inspired the careers of others.

2019: Loretta Lynn

2018: Bill Anderson

White Hat Award: 

Bestowed by the NSAI Board of Directors to an individual who has significantly served the American songwriting community.

2019: U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

2018: Congressman Doug Collins (GA)

Maggie Cavender Award:

Given in recognition of extraordinary service to the songwriting community, voted by the NSAI Board of Directors.

2017: Tim DuBois
2016: Ralph Murphy
2015: Jo Walker-Meador, Layng Martine, Jr. and Billy Block

Stephen Foster Award

Given in recognition of generous support for – and dedication to – songwriters, the music industry and NSAI, chosen by NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison.

2018: Cary Sherman

2017: John A. Hardaway
2016: Andrew Kintz
2015: Liz and Casey Anderson