Brett James

An Oklahoma native, Brett is a current NSAI Board member who serves as the board’s “Industry Liaison”. Brett is a longtime member of the NSAI Executive Committee and has played a lead role in NSAI’s legislative efforts. ASCAP’s 2010 Country Songwriter of the Year, Brett’s songwriting credits include Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus, Take The Wheel,” the 2007 Grammy-winning Best Country Song that was also Song of the Year for NSAI and ASCAP. The Oklahoma native is also the writer of Kenny Chesney’s “Reality,” Kelly Clarkson’s “Mr. Know It All,” Scotty McCreery’s “I Love You This Big,” the Uncle Kracker - Kid Rock duet “Good To Be Me,” Jason Aldean’s “The Truth,” Rodney Atkins’ “It’s America,” Chris Young’s “The Man I Want To Be,” ” Carrie Underwood’s “Cowboy Casanova,” the Kenny Chesney - Uncle Kracker duet “When The Sun Goes Down,” Jessica Andrews’ “Who I Am,” Martina McBride’s “Blessed,” Sara Evans’ “Cheatin’,” Pat Green’s “Feels Just Like It Should,” Kenny Chesney’s “Out Last Night,” “Keg In The Closet” and “You Save Me,” Rascal Flatts’ “Summer Nights” and “Love You Out Loud,” Tim McGraw’s “Drugs Or Jesus,” Josh Gracin’s “I Want to Live,” Wynonna’s “What The World Needs,” Lonestar’s “With Me” and Billy Ray Cyrus’ “You Won’t Be Lonely Now.”